The Power 5

Jump through the page:

What is the Power 5?

What conferences are in the Power 5?



Big Ten


Big 12

What is the Power 5?

The “Power 5” (P5) refers to the five conferences that make up the highest level of college football. The five conferences that constitute the P5 compete in the FBS division of college football, and compete against the Independent schools and the Group of 5. However, the Power 5 is commonly acknowledged as the most competitive level of college football. Nearly all national champions and Heisman Trophy winners have come from the Power 5.

Jump to the top

What conferences are in the Power 5?

The five conferences in the “Power 5” are the:

Jump to the top

Southeastern Conference (SEC)

The SEC is arguably the most competitive conference in college football. It features some of the best performing college teams year after year, and its teams have won a combined 43 national titles.

Currently, there are 14 teams in the SEC; once Oklahoma and Texas join the conference the SEC will expand to 16 teams. The current SEC schools are divided into two divisions—the SEC East and SEC West:

The teams in the SEC East are the:
  • Florida Gators
  • Georgia Bulldogs
  • South Carolina Gamecocks
  • Tennessee Volunteers
  • Vanderbilt Commodores
  • Kentucky Wildcats
  • Missouri (“Mizzou”) Tigers
The teams in the SEC West are the:
  • Alabama Crimson Tide
  • Texas A&M Aggies
  • Auburn Tigers
  • LSU Tigers
  • Arkansas Razorbacks
  • Mississippi (“Ole Miss”) Rebels
  • Mississippi State Bulldogs

Jump to the top

Atlantic Coastal Conference (ACC)

The ACC is made up of 14 full-time schools that are predominantly situated in the Eastern U.S. Those teams are divided into two divisions—the ACC Coastal and ACC Atlantic:

The teams in the ACC Coastal are the :
  • Virginia Tech Hokies
  • North Carolina Tar Heels
  • Miami Hurricanes
  • Virginia Cavaliers
  • Pittsburgh Panthers
  • Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets
  • Duke Blue Devils
The teams in the ACC Atlantic are the:
  • Clemson Tigers
  • Florida State Seminoles
  • Boston College Eagles
  • North Carolina State Wolfpack
  • Wake Forest Demon Deacons
  • Louisville Cardinals
  • Syracuse Orange

Jump to the top

The Big 10

The Big Ten Conference is the oldest conference in college football. The Big Ten actually has 14 members, despite its name. Those schools are divided into two divisions with 7 teams in each division—the BIG East and BIG West:

The teams in the Big Ten East are:
  • Ohio State Buckeyes
  • Michigan Wolverines
  • Michigan State Spartans
  • Penn State Nittany Lions
  • Maryland Terrapins
  • Rutgers Scarlet Knights
  • Indiana Hoosiers
The teams in the Big Ten West are:
  • Nebraska Cornhuskers
  • Iowa Hawkeyes
  • Wisconsin Badgers
  • Minnesota Golden Gophers
  • Northwestern Wildcats
  • Purdue Boilermakers
  • Illinois Fighting Illini

Jump to the top

Pacific-12 (Pac-12)

The Pac -12 is the major college football conference on the west coast. The Pac-12 is defined by academic prestige of its schools and geographic isolation as the only major conference in the western U.S. There are currently 12 teams in the Pac-12 organized into two divisions—the PAC-12 North and Pac-12 South:

The teams in the Pac-12 North are the:
  • Washington Huskies
  • Washington State Cougars
  • Oregon Ducks
  • Oregon State Beavers
  • Cal Berkeley Golden Bears
  • Stanford Cardinal
The teams in the Pac-12 South are the:
  • Colorado Buffaloes
  • Utah Utes
  • USC Trojans (Southern California)
  • UCLA Bruins (UC Los Angeles)
  • Arizona Wildcats
  • Arizona State Sun Devils

Jump to the top

The Big 12

The Big 12 is actually made up of 10 member schools currently. It will increase its teams to 12 schools in the coming years. Two of its current members—Oklahoma and Texas—are expected to leave for the SEC. As a result, the Big 12 is planning to add 4 new members. They are expected to add three Group of 5 schools—the Cincinnati Bearcats, Central Florida Knights, and Houston Cougars—as well as one independent school, the BYU Cougars.

The current teams in the Big 12 are the:
  • Oklahoma Sooners
  • Texas Longhorns
  • Oklahoma State Cowboys
  • Baylor Bears
  • TCU Horned Frogs
  • Iowa State Cyclones
  • West Virginia Mountaineers
  • Kansas Jayhawks
  • Kansas State Wildcats
  • Texas Tech Red Raiders

Jump to the top

Exit mobile version