What was the AFL?

The AFL, the American Football League, was a pro football league that merged into the NFL in 1970. It made a lasting impact on football, including the formation of the Super Bowl and the modern AFC conference in the NFL.

The AFL (American Football League)

The AFL was a pro football league in the United States that was founded in 1959. The AFL played its first season in 1960. It began with 8 teams but grew to 10 teams by the time it merged with the NFL in 1970.

The Super Bowl began as a championship game between the winner of the AFL and the winner of the NFL. A few years after the first Super Bowl, the AFL officially merged into the NFL. The teams of the AFL formed what is now known as the AFC (American Football Conference), one of the two conferences in the modern NFL.

What teams were in the AFL?

The 10 teams from the AFL that would go on to join the NFL were the:
  • Kansas City Chiefs (formerly the “Dallas Texans”)
  • Denver Broncos
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Boston Patriots (now the “New England” Patriots)
  • Houston Oilers (now the “Tennessee Titans”)
  • Miami Dolphins
  • New York Jets
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • Oakland Raiders (now the “Las Vegas” Raiders)

2 thoughts on “What was the AFL?”

Leave a Reply